Blog

JH

More about Jing Hui

"I’m Jing Hui. I like to eat dislike to sleep!
I’m a beatboxer. I have been beatboxing since 2016. In 2016, I discovered beatbox through a YouTube video. Curiosity got to me and now it becomes a part of my life!"

Why did I start beatboxing?

"I always did random noises when I was a little boy, like “machine gun” noise I picked up from playing toy with my brother, when in actuality I was doing a click roll, but at that time I never knew about beatboxing yet. At first I would listen to sounds, then i started mimicking other beatboxers, back when I was 17. I then found beatbox tutorials from YouTube by KRNFX and I also just watched and mimicked Alem's, Zer0's, Alexinho's and NaPoM's techniques a lot. Now I experiment with style I have begun to develop, constantly freestyling and trying to progress what I come up with."

Who inspired me?

"I would say NaPoM I was inspired by him because he is one of the most unique beatboxers who has nice control of his liprolls and technical beats even can handle musicality. That's why he is my favorite beatboxer! Nowadays I find inspiration from everyone and in everything."

My goals

"I want to be a beatbox legend one day. I also want to make an impact in the beatbox community and try to make different type of music with beatboxing. Make more people know and love beatboxing. I always tell people beatboxing is music not noises or kouji. Hence, I will keep going to make all of my dreams come to fruition. Here's my favorite quote “All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them.” said Walt Disney."

what music influences me?

"I get inspiration from trap music the most. Especially, Marshmello's albums! Sometimes I also listen to jazz."

My story

"I was slightly autistic in Secondary School, and I met a friend who brought me out through. In 2016, I just knew what actually beatbox was but he just strongly advised me to enter the talent show which is held in my Secondary School. During my shout out at the stage, everybody was shocked and like "Woah, I never thought a nerd person can beatboxing!", I then won the competition. I can't say I was famous but most of them knew me at that time. That was also one of the reason I recovered from autism as more people talk to me. In 2017, I joined the talent show again but that time I was not just solo, I joined a group and we performed something different like nobody even did which was doing drama by using Diabolo, dancing and beatboxing. I then took the title again. Last, I would like to say that to be able to express "own music" in own way is really amazing to me. "

Video

"I recorded a beatbox freestyle video because last CA survey form people were asking me to at least put some videos here to show that I can beatbox, so here it is!"